Free Initial Consultations 573.227.6040
Fighting to Protect ALL Your Rights Committed to Your Defense Since 1985

Columbia DWI/DUI Attorneys

Defending Drivers' Rights in Mid-Missouri

The authorities may charge an individual with a DWI under various circumstances. An individual who operates a vehicle with a blood alcohol content of .08 or higher may be charged with a DWI. Similarly, if a person consumes any substance that impairs his or her mental or physical abilities and then operates a car, he or she may also be subject to Missouri DWI charges.

If you were charged with driving under the influence, you could face serious consequences. At Murray Law Firm, you can work with a qualified DWI attorney in Columbia who will provide you with the legal counsel and representation you need.

    While we're based in Columbia, we proudly provide our assistance to residents in the counties of Boone, Callaway, Cole, Randolph, Audrain, Cooper, Howard, and the surrounding areas, so don't hesitate to give us a call when you need legal services.

    Arrested for DWI? Initial consultations are offered at no charge. Call us today at (573) 227-6040 to get started.

    What are the Penalties for DWI in Missouri

    Being charged with a DWI can greatly impact your finances, your ability to work, and your reputation, so you need an experienced DWI attorney on your side. We can provide you with capable legal strategies and pursue the best possible outcome. It is important to assess the specific situation and your Missouri DWI attorney can help you understand your options.

    The legal ramifications of a Missouri DWI charge vary depending on the state you're in, but in Missouri, you could face the following penalties:

    • A first offense results in up to six months of jail time, a fine of up to $500, and a 90-day license suspension. You may also have to add an ignition interlock device (IID) to your vehicle. The device works like a breathalyzer and locks the ignition if you've been drinking.
    • A second offense results in up to one year in jail, a fine of up to $1,000, a one- to five-year license suspension, and an IID addition for a hardship license and to get reinstated.
    • A third DWI offense results in up to four years in prison, a fine of up to $5,000, a 10-year license suspension, and an IID addition for a hardship license and to get reinstated.

    Implied Consent Law

    Under Missouri law, all drivers have automatically agreed to submit to a blood, breath, urine, or saliva test if you are pulled over for driving while intoxicated. If you refuse testing, you could face a one-year license revocation and after that the installation of an IID for six-months.

    Can a DWI charge be reduced in Missouri?

    Depending on the DWI case, you may be able plea bargain for a lesser charge. The state of Missouri does not prohibit plea bargaining in DWI cases, but nothing is guaranteed.

    To schedule your free consultation with our DWI attorney in Columbia, call us at (573) 227-6040 or fill out our contact form. We have more than 44 years of experience in the criminal defense field.

    Why Choose Murray Law Firm

    • Compassion

      We help our clients take the necessary steps to get their lives back on track. We care about you and your future.

    • Experience

      Our team brings over 44 years of experience in the courtroom. We've successfully handled thousands of cases.

    • Local

      Our lead attorney received both degrees from Mizzou and has spent his career committed to fighting for his neighbors.

    • Affordable

      All initial consultations are free. We also offer affordable legal fees and flexible payment plans.

    Focused On Your Defense

    Call (573) 227-6040 or Fill Out a Form
      • Please enter your name.
      • Please enter your name.
      • Please enter your email address.
        This isn't a valid email address.
      • Please make a selection.
      • Please enter a message.